## April 21, 2020RE-ORGANIZATION MEETING5:00 P.M.

Mayor Jim Wilkie called the Re-Organization meeting of the Common Council of the City of Alma to order.

Mayor Jim Wilkie announced the Council members present from First Ward: Monica Moham, Larry Farl and Gary Jepsen.

Mayor Jim Wilkie announced the Council members present from Second Ward: David Earney, Richard Champeny and Larry Grisen.

Mayor Jim Wilkie announced Alderperson At-Large Gary Ruff was present.

\*Larry Farl, Richard Champeny and Monica Moham appeared by Zoom.

Motion by Ruff seconded by Earney to approve the following standing committee appointments as presented. All members voting yes.

Motion by Ruff seconded by Earney to approve the appointment of Chief of Police as Michael Johnson. All members voting yes.

Motion by Moham seconded by Grisen to approve the appointment of Jon Seifert as city attorney with alternate to be determined. All members voting yes.

Motion by Ruff seconded by Moham to approve the appointment of the Buffalo County Journal as the official newspaper. All members voting yes.

Motion by Farl seconded by Ruff to approve the appointment of the Bank of Alma – WI Investment Trust, secondary as the City Depository. All members voting yes.

Motion by Champeny seconded by Jepsen to approve Thomas Brakke as the Fire Chief. All members voting yes.

Motion by Moham seconded by Farl to approve Linda Torgerson as Zoning Administrator. All members voting yes.

Motion by Champeny seconded by Farl to approve Gary Ruff as the WUTA & Dairyland Power Representative. All members voting yes.

Election for Council President was held with the following results: An unanimous cast of ballots for Gary Ruff (7) was cast resulting in Gary Ruff as Council President.

Motion by Ruff seconded by Earney to adjourn. All members voting yes.

# City of Alma

Standing Committees and Other Appointments

# \*\*2020 - 2021\*\*

## **Standing Committees:**

<u>Finance/Tax/</u> License	Finance, Property, Salary, Budget, Insurance Shawnee Estates, tax, license, zoning, permits, *Board of Review
members	Ruff, Jepsen, Farl (Grisen) *Mayor Wilkie and Clerk Torgerson are statutory
<u>Utilities:</u>	Streets, Sewer & Water, Sidewalks, parking, employee safety
	Earney, Ruff, Grisen (Farl)
<u>Services:</u> garbage,	Fire, Cemetery, Police (for equipment and ordinance issues, enforcement projects)
	Recycling, health and landfill
	Moham, Earney, Champeny (Jepsen)
Parks & Recreation:	Parks, beach, campground, harbor, boat landings, tourism, room tax, municipal docks <b><u>Farl</u></b> , Moham, Champeny (Grisen)
Ambulance Board:	Ruff, Dean Haigh, Toby Jahnke (Moham)
Board of Appeals:	Loren Mueller, Marcel Kulas, Kevin Cassidy, vacancy, vacancy
Planning Commission:	Wilkie, Ruff, Champeny, Cal Loewenhagen, Sandra Ebert,
	Stacy Haigh, <i>vacancy</i> (Marcel Kulas, Alternate)
Library Liaison:	Jepsen (Grisen, alternate)
Fire Dept. Liaison:	<u><b>Ruff</b></u> (Earney)
Senior Citizen Liaison:	Grisen (Moham, alternate)

**<u>Cemetery Beautification</u>:** 

(Lifetime)

Monica Moham, Kati Hanson

### Cemetery Beautification Liaison: Champeny (Earney , alternate)

#### Historical Preservation Advisory Commission:

Sandra Ebert (3rd of a 3 yr. term), Max Bachhuber (2<sup>nd</sup> of a 3 yr. term), Jeremy Fernholz (1<sup>st</sup> of a 3 yr. term) Larry Farl, David Earney (Monica Moham, alternate)

**Tourism Commission:** Larry Farl, Dan Kordiak, Gail Pommerening, Kathi Anderson, Sandy Schams and Mayor Wilkie (in his absence the City Clerk)

#### **Other Appointments**

Chief of Police	Michael Johnson
City Attorney	Jon Seifert (Alternate to be determined)
Official Newspaper	Buffalo County Journal
City Depository	Bank of Alma-WI Investment Trust, Secondary
Fire Chief	Thomas Brakke
Zoning Administrator	Linda Torgerson
WUTA & Dairyland Power Representative	Gary Ruff

**\*\*NOTE:** Alternates will serve ONLY in the absence of a regular committee member or if specifically asked to attend by the Chairperson. Liaisons will meet quarterly. (Special projects may require more than the quarterly meetings)

Council President elected: <u>Gary Ruff</u>