November 7, 2024 SPECIAL COUNCIL PROCEEDINGS

Mayor Richard Champeny called the special meeting of the Common Council of the City of Alma to order.

Pledge of Allegiance was said.

Deputy Clerk Sharaya Reed took roll call with the following members present: Mayor Richard Champeny, Larry Grisen by Zoom, Randy Brommer, Larry Farl, Loren Mueller, Gary Jepsen, David Earney, and Davie Meier. Others present included: Foreman Joe Wick, Christine Thompson, Allyn Burt, Dan Schultz, Stacy Lewellyn by Zoom, Dave Brommerich by Zoom, and Tom Brakke.

Deputy Clerk Sharaya Reed shared with the Mayor that Jerri Schreiber called and would like to have the Board of Appeals discussion moved to a later date and time as she could not make today and would like to be present for it. Deputy Reed shared with Schreiber that she would relay the message.

Discussion was held on the Purchase Procurement Policy. Jepsen gave an overview of the process of getting items in order such as this policy to submit.

Motion by Earney seconded by Brommer that the City adopt the Procurement Policy. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Jepsen went over the Law Enforcement Contract. Earney asked if January 1 was still the start date. Jepsen shared that March was a more realistic date as to the steps still ahead after the City approves the contract.

Motion by Earney seconded by Mueller for the adoption of the contracted service agreement between the City of Alma and Buffalo County for police enforcement. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Mayor Champeny shared that he wanted to present a purchase agreement for the Riverland Energy property, but Dairyland Power and Riverland Energy are now negotiating on property. Things are on hold right now for the City.

Mayor Champeny presented names to fill the vacancies of Board of Appeals member, Chairperson, 1st alternate, and 2nd alternate.

The Mayor nominated Dave Becker as 2nd alternate.

Motion by Mueller seconded by Brommer to approve Dave Becker as 2nd alternate to the Board of Appeals. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

The Mayor nominated Corey Hanson as 1st alternate.

Motion by Farl seconded by Jepsen to approve Corey Hanson as 1st alternate to the Board of Appeals. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

The Mayor nominated Deb Eisenhutt as member to the Board of Appeals.

Motion by Grisen seconded by Meier to approve Deb Eisenhutt as member to the Board of Appeals. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

The Mayor nominated Marcel Kulas as Chairperson to the Board of Appeals.

Motion by Brommer seconded by Farl to approve Marcel Kulas as Chairperson to the Board of Appeals. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

The Mayor nominated lodging owner, Jon Wisneski to the Tourism Commission.

Motion by Mueller seconded by Jepsen to approve Jon Wisneski to the Tourism Commission. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Motion by Mueller seconded by Brommer to adjourn. All members voting yes.