Mayor Richard Champeny called the Re-Organization meeting of the Common Council of the City of Alma to order.

Pledge of Allegiance was said.

Mayor Richard Champeny announced the Council members present from First Ward: Gary Jepsen, Randy Brommer, and Perry Iberg.

Mayor Richard Champeny announced the Council members present from Second Ward: David Earney, Loren Mueller, and Davie Meier.

Mayor Richard Champeny announced Alderperson At-Large Larry Grisen was present.

Mayor Champeny announced that Perry Iberg was absent.

Motion by Earney seconded by Meier to approve the standing committee appointments as presented. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Motion by Mueller seconded by Jepsen to approve the appointment of Chief of Police as Aarik Lackershire. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Motion by Jepsen seconded by Meier to approve the appointment of Jon Seifert as city attorney with alternate to be determined. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Motion by Brommer seconded by Earney to approve the appointment of the Buffalo County News as the official newspaper. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Motion by Mueller seconded by Brommer to approve the appointment of the Bank of Alma – WI Investment Trust, secondary as the City Depository. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Motion by Meier seconded by Earney to approve Thomas Brakke as the Fire Chief. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Motion by Grisen seconded by Jepsen to approve Linda Torgerson as Zoning Administrator. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Motion by Earney seconded by Mueller to approve Gary Ruff as the WUTA & Dairyland Power Representative. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Motion by Earney seconded by Jepsen to approve Kenneth Passow as the Code Enforcement Officer. All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Motion by Jepsen seconded by Earney to approve the Riverland Energy building committee

(Larry Grisen, Chairman, Richard Champeny-Mayor, David Earney, Clerk-Treasurer Linda Torgerson, Deputy Clerk Sharaya Reed with Loren Mueller as alternate). All members voting yes by roll call vote.

Election for Council President was held with the following results: Three votes for Gary Jepsen, two votes for Larry Grisen, one vote for Randy Brommer.

Gary Jepsen is the Council President.

Motion by Earney seconded by Meier to adjourn. All members voting yes.

### City of Alma

Standing Committees and Other Appointments

\*\*2025 - 2026\*\*

### **Standing Committees:**

Finance/Tax/License Finance, City owned Property, Salary, Budget, Insurance

Shawnee Estates, tax, license, zoning, permits, \*Board of Review

Jepsen, Iberg, Grisen (Earney) \*Mayor Champeny and Clerk Torgerson are

statutory members

<u>Utilities:</u> Streets, Sewer & Water, Sidewalks, parking, employee safety

Grisen, Earney, Brommer (Iberg)

**Services:** Fire, Cemetery, Police (for equipment and ordinance issues, enforcement projects)

garbage,

Recycling, health and landfill, Private property inspections.

Mueller, Jepsen, Earney (Meier)

Parks & Recreation: Parks, beach, campground, harbor, boat landings, tourism, room tax, municipal docks

Meier, Mueller, Iberg (Brommer)

<u>Ambulance Board:</u> <u>Meier,</u> Dean Haigh, Toby Jahnke (Brommer)

Board of Appeals: Marcel Kulas, Patricia Brovold, Lee Salisbury, Calvin Loewenhagen and Deborah

Eisenhutt

1st alternate: Corey Hanson 2nd alternate: Dave Becker

<u>Planning Commission</u>: <u>Champeny</u>, Mueller, Brommer, Cal Loewenhagen, Sandra Ebert,

Marcel Kulas, Kati Hanson (Stacy Haigh, alternate)

<u>Library Liaison:</u> <u>Jepsen</u> (Mueller, alternate)

<u>Fire Dept. Liaison:</u> <u>Meier</u> (Iberg, alternate)

Senior Citizen Liaison: Mueller (Earney, alternate)

**Cemetery Beautification:** (Lifetime)

Kati Hanson and Betty Feuling

**<u>Cemetery Beautification Liaison:</u> <u>Brommer</u>** (Earney, alternate)

#### **Historical Preservation Advisory Commission:**

Jeremy Fernholz (3rd of a 3 yr. term), Sandra Ebert (2<sup>nd</sup> of a 3 yr. term), Max Bachhuber (1<sup>st</sup> of a 3 yr. term) Perry Iberg, David Earney (Randy Brommer, alternate)

**Tourism Commission:** Davie Meier, Dan Kordiak, Sandy Schams, Jon Wisneski, Kathy Jepsen and Mayor Champeny (in his absence the City Clerk)

<u>Riverland Energy Building Committee:</u> <u>Larry Grisen</u>, Richard Champeny, David Earney, Linda Torgerson and Sharaya Reed (Loren Mueller, alternate)

# **Other Appointments**

<u>Chief of Police</u> Aarik Lackershire

<u>City Attorney</u> Jon Seifert (Alternate to be determined)

Official Newspaper Buffalo County News

<u>City Depository</u> Bank of Alma—WI Investment Trust, Secondary

<u>Fire Chief</u> Thomas Brakke

Zoning Administrator Linda Torgerson

# WUTA & Dairyland Power Representative Gary Ruff

Code Enforcement Officer	Kenneth Passow
Couc Emorcement Officer	ixcilitetti i assow

\*\*NOTE: Alternates will serve ONLY in the absence of a regular committee member or if specifically asked to attend by the Chairperson.

Liaisons will meet quarterly. (Special projects may require more than the quarterly meetings)

Council President elected: GARY JEPSEN